11 Dec, Monday

Honda Financial Premiership Report | 14 November

Club Cricket

Honda Financial Premiership Report | 14 November

Praneel HiraClub Cricket

Despite another bowler’s days in the Honda Financial Premiership, there were two notable hundreds on Saturday.

In the Prichard Cup, Cornwall and Takapuna have remained unbeaten after clinical wins, while Howick Pakuranga have picked up their first win of the season.

In Premier Men’s two-day action, first innings points have already been decided in three Hedley Howarth Trophy matches. The Tom Hellaby Trophy, however, has some evenly poised contests heading into Day Two.

Premier Women

Takapuna 161 (E Irwin 56, J Prasad 4-13) defeated Auckland University 103 (S Bultitude 4-12, R McNeill 3-10) by 58 runs.

Takapuna kept their impressive Prichard Cup streak alive, but a second win of the season didn’t come easy against Auckland University at Hobsonville Domain. Young opener Emma Irwin (56) was excellent for the Ponies, who were bowled out for 161. The University attack was consistent, but it was Jesse Prasad (4-13), who stole the show late in the piece with a double hat-trick to put a swift end to the Takapuna inning.

Roz McNeill then pegged back the University top order, taking three wickets in her first three overs. From there, the pressure was always on University and off-spinner Sydney Bultutide made the most of it finishing with figures of 4-12. In the end, University were bowled out for 103 in the 34th over to seal a 58-run win to Takapuna. 

Papatoetoe 99 (M Downes 5-25, G Harris 4-13) lost to Howick Pakuranga 100/3 (B Halliday 54*) by seven wickets.

An inspired spell by Marama Downes (5-25) at the top saw Howick Pakuranga blow Papatoetoe away at Lloyd Elsmore. The all-rounder took the first four wickets, while Georgina Harris (4-13) ran through the middle order to see the visitors all out for 99.

Howick Pakuranga overcame a nervous start through Brooke Halliday and Skye Bowden, who saw their side most of the way to victory. Llamas’ skipper Halliday (54*) went past fifty before putting the finishing touches on the seven-wicket win.

Cornwall 203 (S Shahri 51, G Adams 32, J Barker 3-22) played Parnell 118 (O Lobb 45, F Jonas 3-12, A Hucker 3-24) by 85 runs.

Cornwall’s Saachi Shahri continued her fine start the summer against Parnell with a second Prichard Cup fifty. Though Jess Barker and Emma Baker made regular breakthroughs to keep the visitors middle order in check, Gemma Adams’ cameo (32) and a ninth-wicket 50-run stand between Breearne Illing (27) and Fran Jonas pushed Cornwall’s total to 203.

Parnell’s chase started disastrously. At 12/3, Olivia Lobb (45) and Shriya Naidu (27) slowly but surely went about a rebuild. Cornwall’s HEARTS pair Amie Hucker (3-24) and Jonas (3-12) were on the money for most of their ten-over spells and played a big role in driving the required run-rate up. Parnell were eventually bowled out in the 44th over for 118.

Premier Men

Hedley Howarth Trophy | Round Two

Suburbs New Lynn 127 (S Keene 3-24, T Chitongo 3-43) and 33/0 lead North Shore 95 (L Devereaux 3-23, S Johnston 3-24)

Suburbs fought back through the second half of Day One to claim first innings points and a crucial lead against North Shore at Ken Maunder Park. It was a case of ‘don’t just the wicket until both sides have batted’ with Simon Keene (3-24) and Tendai Chitongo the chief destroyers in bowling Suburbs out for 127. 

North Shore’s chase, however, came unstuck as medium-pacers Luke Devereaux (3-23) and Scott Johnston were rewarded for putting the ball in good areas. The visitors’ tail couldn’t quite stick it out like Suburbs’ had, giving up a 32-run first innings lead. Suburbs openers fared better second time around and will resume at 33/0 on Day Two.

Papatoetoe 122 (D James 5-42, J Sussex 3-8) trail Takapuna 236/5 (W O’Donnell 116*, C Mahoney 32)

It was an action-packed Day One at Onewa Domain, where Takapuna have already claimed first innings points and built a handy lead against Papatoetoe. Papatoetoe’s top three all made starts, while Dan James (5-42) and Jordan Sussex (3-8) starred with the ball for the hosts. 

The visitors needed early wickets, but openers Will O’Donnell (116*) and Coel Mahoney (32) put on 60 in good time. Papatoetoe now have a mountain to climb if they are to get anything out of this match with Takapuna ready to launch on Day Two from 236/5.

Grafton 134 (A Quinn 4-54, M Gibson 3-30) trail Cornwall 176/9 (S Marra 50, A Dhadwal 45, C Brookland 36, C de Beer 7-52) 

Grafton’s tricky start to life back in the Hedley Howarth Trophy took another turn on Saturday against Cornwall. New ball bowlers Anthony Quinn (4-54) and Matt Gibson (3-30) wrested the momentum Cornwall’s way in the opening session and Grafton were eventually bowled out for 134. 

Though Cornwall have already collected first innings points, they haven’t had it all their own way with leg-spinner Carl de Beer claiming career-best figures of 7-52. For Cornwall, Scott Marra (50) has helped build a slender lead after openers Amit Dhadwal (45) and Caleb Brookland (36) set the foundation. 

Auckland University 265 (A Prasad 107, A Parikh 3-68, G Ratnasabapathy 3-72) play Parnell 22/0

A maiden Premier hundred for 17-year old Aakash Prasad has helped Auckland University to a competitive total at Shore Road against Parnell. While the left-hander found good support in many of his teammates, the Peaches’ bowlers were able to make regular breakthroughs. 

Aniket Parikh (3-68) and Ganesh Ratnasabapathy (3-72) were most effective for the hosts, but University’s patience meant the pair were asked to bowl a lot of overs on a scorching day in Parnell. University were eventually bowled out for 265; Parnell finished the day unscathed at 22/0.

Tom Hellaby Trophy | Round Two

Eden Roskill 258 (S Sharma 94, J Kumar 40, R Sandhu 37, O Chakraborty 36, A Jones 3-22, T Jolley 3-38) play Howick Pakuranga 88/1 (D Young 46*)

Shaniel Sharma (94) led Eden Roskill out of early trouble against Howick Pakuranga at Keith Hay Park. The left-hander combined with Oyashik Charkraborty (36), Raja Sandhu (37) and Jeet Kumar (40) to take Eden Roskill from 26/3 to 222/6. 

Adam Jones (3-22) and Taine Jolley (3-38) stuck to their guns, however, and will have mixed feelings about Eden Roskill finishing up with 258. The final session of the day belonged to the visitors, with opener Daniel Young (46*) and captain Andrew Morrison (23*) patient in the lead up to stumps.

Birkenhead 251/9 dec. (L Agnew 60, T Gemlawala 56, J Henderson 3-42) play Waitakere 23/0

Birkenhead put in a solid showing at home against Waitakere. Laurie Agnew (60) and Tejas Gemlawala (56) provided the backbone for the hosts after falling to 38/3 inside the first hour. The pair put on 92 for the fourth wicket before Waitakere hit back again. Jack Henderson (3-42) was the standout performer for the visitors, who never really let Birkenhead get away.

At 251/9, Birkenhead opted to declare in hope of picking up some wickets late in the day, but Waitakere’s openers, Shozib Mirza and Kavi Minhas, ensured Waitakere would have all ten wickets heading into Day Two. 

East Coast Bays 332/9 dec. (S Langridge 75, D Winter 58, C Briggs 58, T van Ingen-Kal 38, B Smith 33*, R Schierhout 30) play Ellerslie 105/5 (P Narsimhan 32*, L Delport 3-19) 

East Coast Bays were aggressive in racking up and declaring at 332/9 against Ellerslie at Michaels Avenue. Fifties to Seb Langridge (75), Dan Winter (58) and Cole Briggs (58) led the visitors to maximum batting points. All six Ellerslie bowlers took a wicket, but Bays were able to stack together several valuable partnerships.

Though several batsmen made starts for Ellerslie, the hosts are yet to build any substantial partnerships. Spinner Louis Delport already has three scalps to his name and will be the key on Day Two as Bays look to ram home their advantage. Ellerslie will resume at 105/5, trailing by 227 runs.