11 Dec, Monday

Developing Future Hearts

Auckland Hearts

The Developing Future Hearts (DFH) programme provides young, up-and-coming Auckland cricketers with an amazing opportunity to develop both on and off the field.

DFH 2018/19

Auckland Cricket would like to congratulate the players below on selection into the programme for the 2018/2019 season:

Amberly Parr (Howick Pakuranga CC)

Sydney Bultitude (Takapuna Ponies CC)

Amie Hucker (Cornwall CC)

Emily Thurman (Cornwall CC)

Fran Jonas (Cornwall CC)

About DFH:

We have changed from the old winter academy where players were committing for 10 weeks, to a 9 month commitment potentially over 3 years (should their age allow from 16 to 19 approximately).

Players have not been selected based on age groups, but on the ability and traits required for success at the highest levels in the future, therefore the decision making process has not been an easy one. The criteria are:

Current Ability (how they play the game now)
Potential Talent (player’s background, sporting history)
Performance Foundations (coachable, work ethic, resilience, motivation)

The programme will run from August to April, based on 1-2 evenings a week.

Auckland Cricket are looking to put a lot more resource and support in to our better younger players who we feel right now are showing some of the right attributes to play for the Auckland Hearts in the future.

We would like the Developing Future Hearts (DFH) programme to run in conjunction with district, club and school programmes where possible but in weeks where there are clashes we would expect the DFH’s programme to take priority.

It needs to be made clear that this is an initial selection and the players have to earn the right to stay in the programme which will be reviewed on an ongoing basis.

New players can become contenders for selection to the programme with consistent performances of a high standard in district, club and school competitions each season.

Selection for the Auckland U17 and U19 teams will draw from the wider pool of players competing in the district, club and school competitions. The players listed below are not guaranteed selection into these age group tournaments.

DFH Fourth intake 2018/19:

Skye Bowden (Pakuranga College/Howick Pakuranga)

Molly Penfold (Baradene College of the Sacred Heart/ Howick Pakuranga)

DFH Third intake 2016/17:

Jesse Prasad – University

Tariel Lamb – Cornwall

Josie Penfold – Howick Pakuranga

DFH Second intake 2015/16:

Yaz Kareem – University

Bella Armstrong – Cornwall

Saachi Shahri – Cornwall

Developing Future Hearts (DFH) First intake 2014/15:

Natasha van Tilburg – attending University of Canterbury

Lauren Down – Takapuna

Feala Vaelua – Waitakere